Arenacross’ second running a success


Around 60 competitors across 11 different classes between side-by-sides and dirt bikes raced at the Park County Fair’s Arenacross on Friday night.

This was the second year for the Arenacross and “I thought it went really well,” said event coordinator Kyle Burkhardt; Burkhardt said it’s a good event when there are no big crashes and when no one gets hurt.

In the side-by-side races, two different classes competed: a women’s division and a pro division.

For the women’s side-by-side, Sarah Burkhardt took first and Jamie Card finished second.

In the pro division, Joe Mueller placed first, Max McCord placed second and Nick Nicola was third. A total of five racers competed in the pro side-by-side division.

For the dirtbike races, a total of eight bikers competed in the expert division.

Chase Barnett took first place with Skylar Sheets placing second and Shawn Widdicombe taking third. Fourth place went to Michael Hendershot, Michael Wiles placed fifth, Michael Flores finished sixth, Philip Sheets placed seventh and Kenny Grant took eighth.

For the vet division, Michael Hendershot finished in the first place position with Eric Severns following in second. Randall Dilworth took third, Justin Workman placed fourth, Jason Severns placed fifth and Chris Thomas finished sixth.

In the intermediate class, Tallan Wiles placed first, Derek Cordes took second, Jeremy Miller finished third, Nick Mundy placed fourth, Chris Sopjes took fifth, Toby Hooper placed sixth, Kacey Creed finished seventh and Dillon Stainbrook finished in eighth.

The novice class had two competitors with Jacob Hieb winning the race and Jarret McCurdy taking second.

In the mini class, Kyler Warren placed first, Talan Hooper took second, Kelden Boettcher finished third, Barrett George placed fourth, Josh Wilson took fifth, Aiden Greenwald finished sixth, Isaiah Woyak placed seventh and Cody Cantrell was eighth place.

Ten racers rode in the mini junior division. Zayden Stahl won the race, followed by Joel Neves in second and Hoyt Wells in third. Grady Perry finished fourth, Luke Thomas was fifth, Jack Wardell placed sixth, Kael Widdicombe took seventh, Tyler Wiles placed eighth, Cienna Neves finished ninth and Scotty Riedinger finished in 10th place.

For the 50cc class, Jeremy Wiles won with Forest Kleinfeldt taking second. Madison Rowe placed third, Hayden Workman took fourth, Chloe Chouinard was fifth, Whitney Hendershot placed sixth, Weston Hendershot finished seventh and Zander Stahl was eighth.

Three women competed in the women’s division, where Levi Cvikel took first, Emma Severns second and Layla Dilworth third.